An official website of the United States government

Travelers to Tanzania
May 2, 2022

Travelers to Tanzania may obtain entry visas at select ports of entry. At present, visas are issued at Dar es Salaam International Airport, Kilimanjaro International Airport, Zanzibar Airport, and the Tanzania-Kenya border post at Namanga. The usual fee is US$100 for regular passport holders. However, we recommend that travelers obtain visas in advance whenever possible.

Once in Tanzania, a limited extension of stay may be obtained from the Immigration Department, Ministry of Home Affairs, P.O. Box 512, Dar es Salaam. Requests for long-term residency (beyond four months) must be logged at the Tanzanian diplomatic mission in the traveler’s home country. Applications for conversion from business/tourist status to permanent resident will not be honored while in Tanzania. Visitors are urged to ensure that they remain in legal immigration status at all times while in Tanzania.

Travel by land within Tanzania is very difficult due to poor road conditions, frequent shortages of spare parts, and dangerous driving practices. Tanzania has a 50,000-kilometer road network of which 40,000 kilometers are unpaved. During the rainy seasons (February-April and October-November), many of these roads are impassable. Public transportation is often irregular and undependable; thefts occasionally occur on inter-city buses and trains. Drivers should exercise extreme care and drive defensively, especially during rush hours, to reduce the possibility of a motor vehicle accident. Think “left” at all times.

To bring an automobile into Tanzania from a neighboring country, we strongly recommend the traveler obtain a valid carnet, available from most travel clubs or associations. Upon crossing the border with a carnet, travelers need only show their valid carnet certification, a valid drivers license and be able to present valid vehicle registration and plates. To ship an automobile, travelers holding a valid carnet are required to pay wharf and handling charges. Without a valid carnet, travelers are subject to multiple forms and fees including a deposit of the equivalent duty payable on the vehicle. While this particular deposit is refundable upon departure, attempting to obtain such a refund is a time-consuming and cumbersome task and not recommended. For further carnet information, travelers may wish to contact the Automobile Association of Tanzania Motoring Organization, Morogoro Road, Opposite Oryx Petrol Station (Near Fire Brigade), Ground Floor Flat No. 3 Block 186175, Parcel No. 33 P.O. Box 3004, Dar es Salaam, phone +255 22 2151837, fax +255 22 2152011, email info@aatanzania.org.

According to Tanzanian authorities, out-of-country automobile insurance is honored in Tanzania; short-term tourists do not need to obtain local Tanzanian insurance. Automobiles are admitted into Tanzania for 14 days, with extensions of 14 days up to a total of three months. Failure to depart within the specified period can result in confiscation of the automobile pending payment of duty. When a Tanzania registered vehicle is driven out of the country for three months or longer, export authorization must be obtained from the Bank of Tanzania.

For long-term visitors or residents intending to import a vehicle for longer than three months, local insurance is required. In addition, such visitors are required to pay duties, port authority fees, and registration charges that total in the thousands of dollars. The Tanzania Revenue Authority as well as the Automobile Association of Tanzania Mortoring Organziation can offer guidance on this importation process.

Travelers may bring in and take out of the country U.S. $10,000.00 without declaration. Non-residents must pay game park fees and some transportation fees in foreign currency. Hotel lodging bills may be paid in foreign currency or Tanzanian Shillings. Banks, hotels, and authorized exchange bureaus are the only places in Tanzania to change money legally. Private currency transactions and trading on the black market are illegal, and offenders are prosecuted. Travelers are permitted to take out U.S. $100.00 equivalent of Tanzanian Shillings of any denomination without securing a permit from the Bank of Tanzania. There are facilities at the airport to convert extra shillings into other currencies.

Tourist hunting/trophy hunting permits may be obtained through one of the designated local hunting companies. Further information may be obtained through the Wildlife Division of the Ministry of Natural Resources & Tourism.

The Government of Tanzania has banned the sale of ivory, and the U.S. Government has banned the import of ivory except in very limited circumstances. Commercial export licenses for ivory may be authorized for professional hunters; however, the killing of elephants is under strict regulation and violators are prosecuted.

Zanzibar, although an integral part of Tanzania, has its own laws and regulations. A dress code exists but is not implemented; however, visitors are advised to dress conservatively. A valid passport is required for travel to Zanzibar.

Americans traveling to Kenya from Tanzania may obtain a visa in advance at the Kenya diplomatic mission or upon arrival at a port of entry. The Kenyan High commission in Dar es Salaam generally issues visas in one day or less. Travelers wishing to return to Tanzania must have valid re-entry permits or multiple entry visas. Travelers by automobile from Tanzania into Kenya may apply at the Tanzania-Kenya border for permission to enter Kenya. Persons entering Kenya by road for a period of more than six nights must pay a road tax.

Review the information on travel.state.gov for Kenya to see health, visa restrictions and other important travel information related to visiting Kenya.

Algeria, Hungary, Poland, Angola, India, Russia, Austria, Indonisia, Rwanda, Bangladesh, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Belgium, Ireland, Seychelles, United Kingdom, Italy, South Africa, Canada, Japan, South Korea, China, Kenya, Spain, Congo, Libya, Sudan, Cuba, Malawi, Sweden, Denmark, Mozambique, Switzerland, Djibouti, Netherlands, Syria, Egypt, Nigeria, Uganda, Finland, Oman, Yemen, France, Pakistan, Yugoslavia, Germany, Palestine, Zambia, Ghana, North Korea, Zimbabwe, Greece, Norway